ORA-29702 – Starting RAC instance in non-rac mode

Today I was trying to create a simple database to troubleshoot one issue. It happens I was using an old server which had CRS and ASM installed and used by an old database. While my test database was not meant to be cluster-aware, I wasn’t able to start the instance, not even in nomount mode. As the old database was decommed, so was the shared storage attached to this server, thus leaving me no easy way I could have CRS started. Best option was to have Oracle acknowledge it was now a single instance/single server – no cluster.

Quickly googling it, I found this nice post that showed me how to solve it by relinking the executable:

Oracle Home: ORA-29702 – Starting RAC instance in non-rac mode.

Thanks Sanjay for sharing the information in your blog.

This entry was posted in Oracle, Other Blogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

